jump to navigation

Getting Off The Corporate Treadmill October 17, 2005

Posted by theexpert in Business, Personal.
trackback

[I’m currently suffering from information overload, which is why I’m writing about things that are close to a week old. I have so many things I want to read…]

Hugh MacLeod, in “The Global Microbrand Rant,” talks about the follies of staying on the “high-priced corporate, urban treadmill” (i.e. big city, corporate life). He follows that up with:

It seems to me a lot of people of my generation are locked into this high-priced corporate, urban treadmill. Sure, they get paid a lot, but their overheads are also off the scale. The minute they stop tapdancing as fast as they can is the minute they are crushed under the wheels of commerce.

You know what? It’s not sustainable.

However, the Global Microbrand is sustainable. With it you are not beholden to one boss, one company, one customer, one local economy or even one industry. Your brand develops relationships in enough different places to where your permanent address becomes almost irrelavant [sic]

Frankly, it beats the hell out of commuting every morning to the corporate glass box in the big city, something I did for many years. Just so I could make enough money to help me forget that I have to commute every morning to the corporate glass box in the big city.

I can relate to this, except that even the money couldn’t help me forget that I was commuting to the corporate glass box and was unhappy about it. That’s why I got off the treadmill. The question for myself is, “now what?” Maybe I’ll end up back in a glass box; I’m not sure. If so, it would be important that it not feel like the usual corporate soul-drain because I don’t think there’s anything that could allow me to forget what I was doing, what (unsustainable) sacrifice I was making.

Oh, and Hugh, it’s not just folks from your generation that are locked into it. I know countless twenty-somethings that are playing the same game (mostly as consultants). And while they aren’t so happy with it, they do love their money.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

